Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Allbooks Review March/April 2012 Newsletter

Visit: www.allbooksreviewint.com

Allbooks Review is the review and author promo source for POD AUTHORS as well as
traditionally published authors. Authors around the world use our service.Great coverage for your book for twelve months +.Our complete review and author promotional package is less than $50.U.S Unbelievable value!! http://www.allbooksreviewint.com/ For complete details contact us.

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Our offices will be closed from March 16th thru to April 20th for revamping. Please hold all inquiries until after April 20th. Our email will be on hold and our website will be not be updated until after April 20th. Thank you for your patience.


Seven Deadly Book PR, Publicity & Marketing Sins
by Media Strategist & NYC Publicist, Annie Jennings of the National NYC PR Firm Annie Jennings PR

Book Publicity, Promotion & Marketing Sin #1:

1. Old Outdated Website: The web is constantly changing. Outdated book sites are cluttered and confusing. It's ok. It easy to get an optimized new design that shows you intelligently. Don't let an old, boring site stand in the way of your book sales

Book Publicity, Promotion & Marketing Sin #2:

2. No Conversion Strategy: When a potential customer comes to your website what do you want them to do? Hire you? Buy the book? Become a member of your community? Is it clear how to accomplish this these goals? Don't worry; it's not totally your fault as many sites grew without a clear cut strategy.

Book Publicity, Promotion & Marketing Sin #3:

3. No Inbound Marketing: How do people find you? Being visible and relevant is important. It means being everywhere at all times. You will need a comprehensive strategy includes a strong online presence.

Book Publicity, Promotion & Marketing Sin #4:

4. No Search Engine Ranking On Keywords - When Google decides that you are the authority in your keyword category by returning your website as one of the top search engine result, that's when you have a competitive advantage.

Book Publicity, Promotion & Marketing Sin #5:

5. No Social Authority: To get a high powered social authority, you'll need to be established on Twitter and Facebook with a business/book page. Yes, the number of followers or likes matters. The more, the merrier. Just build consistently over time in a strategy to optimize your social authority.

Book Publicity, Promotion & Marketing Sin #6:

6. Authors Don't Know That Over 2.7 Million Print On Demand (Self Published) Books Were Published In 2010: If you are an author, you are one in 2.7 million. According to established industry stats, book publishing and print on demand publishing is at an all time high with the print on demand sector skyrocketing. In 2010, Bowker reports that over 2.7 million books published were non-traditional (includes print on demand), up from just 22,000 in 2006. This explosive growth in book publishing and author access via print on demand publishing has created a lot of competition

Book Publicity, Promotion & Marketing Sin #7:

7. No Media Assets: What's a media asset? It's YOU appearing on a major radio show or TV show as the guest or expert. It's YOU being the quoted expert in a major media news outlet or in a national magazine. Yes, credibility matters a lot. Creating a PR and publicity outreach strategy is key to your success.

TV Publicity Bookings, Get Booked On TV Talk Shows

Work with the famous NYC publicity agency, Annie Jennings PR. Here's how:
Find Out More: http://www.anniejenningspr.com/experts.htm
About publicity firm Annie Jennings PR:
Annie Jennings PR provides media booking services to book authors and experts and her client appear on media outlets across the USA.


We love to hear of your success stories, submit them to us at: allbookreviews@aol.com
Remember to post your book signing, guest speaker events on our Bookstore page. Simply send us an email with details of your events and we will be happy to post them. Just part of the Allbooks service to our authors.

Allbooks Reviews INTERVIEW:

Please state your name and location. (city and State or Province, Country)
Carol Sue (CS) Shride, Lakewood, Colorado USA

Tell us the title and publisher of your book:
Lucy Dakota: Adventures of a Modern Explorer Book 1-Rocky Mountain Beginnings.

Tell us about yourself:
I do it all! I am Award-winning author, speaker, educator, explorer, entrepreneur, mentor, and mom. I grew up in the western suburbs of Denver at the foot of the Rocky Mountains. For nearly thirty years as an outdoor educator, adventure guide, climber and business owner, I pursued two of my lifelong passions: travel and mountaineering. After selling my business as part of my divorce settlement, I returned to school and earned a masters degree in education. I found tremendous joy and satisfaction teaching in both public and private schools, where the inspiration to write the Lucy Dakota: Adventures of a Modern Explorer series was born during a creative writing class. I retired early from teaching to care for my father before his passing. Now, as a single mom raising a tween daughter, I write full time creating and contributing to books and articles for teenage girls and women. My personal mission is showing women and girls how to love themselves more fully and helping them follow their own dreams. In addition to the Lucy Dakota series, I have been published in several of the Gratitude Project books and in addition to mine and Lucy’s weekly blogs I have appeared in publications online and off including Investor’s Business Daily, Investors.com, Colorado Parent, BabyTalk magazine, Conde Nast Traveler, and CarolRoth.com.

When was the book released?:
October 15, 2011

Give us an overview of your book.
Lucy Dakota isn’t different from other teens – she is just like them. Lucy has many strengths, she just doesn’t realize them. She is smart and kind, organized and tenacious, trusting and a bit naive. At school, she tries desperately to fit in somewhere, anywhere. That leads her to make poor decisions, particularly around boys and friends. She joins various sports teams, she goes out with boys that have no respect for her and she is friends with a girl who bullies her. Then one day our heroine, Lucy Dakota, is invited to explore in the Colorado wilderness. She faces danger around every corner, and discovers her adventurous side. She starts believing in herself and her abilities and learns there is a lot she can do. Join Lucy as she comes to grips with who she is as a young woman and starts loving life and being alive.

In Rocky Mountain Beginnings our young heroine is reflecting back on her middle school and high school years, discovering how she became who she is today. Open the pages and join Lucy and her adventurous buddies as they:
• Brave the icy elements in the high peaks on a winter mountaineering trip in the Rocky Mountains.
• Fight a huge maelstrom that threatens to pull her under the rapids of the Colorado River.
• Endure a 3-day test alone in the wilderness with no food.
• Rappel off cliffs and plunge through treacherous storm-swollen creeks.
• Stay true to themselves in the face of peer pressure.
• Transform into brave, confident leaders.

What inspired you to write this book?

As my daughter approaches her teen years I wanted to be able to share some of my life lessons, stories and adventures with her in a way that wasn’t lecturing or boring. My own experiences served as the platform and once Lucy got started, she developed a life of her own.

How is your book different from other books in this genre?

I would say the main difference is that Lucy Dakota’s adventures are based on real experiences. I want Lucy to be a real role model, an example to girls and young women of what they can do with their lives if they get to know themselves and what they want.

Where can people buy your book?

Lucy Dakota: Rocky Mountain Beginnings is available online directly from the publisher at www.LucyDakota.com and through bookstores such as Amazon.com and Barnes & Noble. The book is available in hardcover, paperback and ebook formats (Kindle, Nook, iBook, etc.). It is also available through the bookstore at BookMasters / Atlas Books.

Are you working on another book? If so when do you expect it to be published?

Yes, I am working on Book 2 in the series, Journey to Nepal, and I expect a release of fall 2012.

If you self published, what advice can you give to fellow writers?
Get the best printing you can afford - don’t go cheap, and then work your buns off spreading the word.

Can you share one of your marketing successes with us?
My biggest success so far has been direct email marketing to everyone I know and one of the other authors on the interviews page stated, being approachable and following up.

How did you find Allbooks Reviews and what are you hoping for in your relationship with us? I found you through an online search for book reviewers. I am always looking for more exposure, so that is what I am hoping for in my relationship with Allbooks.

Thank you for this interview and best of luck with your book.

If you would like to see your interview here, contact us at: allbooksreview1@aol.com.

Monday, February 27, 2012

Dmitri Nabokov, Steward of Father’s Literary Legacy, Dies at 77

In the NewsBrought to you by Allbooks Review International www.allbooksreviewint.com
Dmitri Nabokov, Steward of Father’s Literary Legacy, Dies at 77
Published: February 25, 2012

Dmitri Nabokov, the son of Vladimir Nabokov, who tended to the legacy of his father with the posthumous publication of a volume of personal letters, an unpublished novella and an unfinished novel that his father had demanded be burned, died on Wednesday in Vevey, Switzerland. He was 77. Mr. Nabokov tried to counter a widely held perception that his father, Vladimir Nabokov, pictured, was cool and distant. Mr. Nabokov was hospitalized for a lung infection in January and never recovered, Andrew Wylie, the agent for the Nabokov estate, said.

Review: Catalyst by Matti McLean

Catalyst is the story of a man named, Micah. Micah never thought he would amount to much. He has the plain job, the average home, the average life. Then suddenly Micah is thrust into a world of surprises and Micah learns he lives in a society were nothing is as it seems. On his way home one night, after being saved from two officers by a man named Jacob, Micah learns that Jacob is a part of a group called the Radicals and wants Micah to join them. Through the story Micah goes on a huge adventure that keeps us in suspense and guessing what will happen next until the end.
There is a whole cast of great characters that keep the pages turning until the story comes to a conclusion. A reader will be hooked from the beginning of the book till the end. The characters are well developed and a reader is able to easily relate to them. The world Micah lives in is hidden with secrets and it will attract any reader who wants a good page turner. Micah’s world is different than anything I have read before and it is interesting to see how that creative world works and what exactly Micah’s role in it will be.
Matti McLean has done a wonderful job creating a story that is exciting and just fun to read. It is really cool to see how Micah changes through the story. The story does leave you hanging, which makes a reader want to learn more and waiting for the next book becomes exciting. I highly recommend this book to anyone who in general wants a great read.
Highly Recommended by Reviewer: Chaselyn Kenney, Allbook Reviews International

Author: Matti McLean
Publisher: Brighter Books Publishing House
Price: $15.95 paperback
Pages: 252
ISBN: 978-0986555589
Date of review: Sep. 2011
For more info: www.brighterbooks.com

Review: A Case of Blackrock Mineral Water by Simon Marshland

Think of Edgar Allen Poe or you might want to think of HBO’s Tales from the Crypt. Alfred Hitchcock’s TV tales might also come to mind when you read Simon Marshland’s 15 short/short stories titled after the first of the strange tales - A Case of Blackrock Mineral Water.
Not all of the stories end with someone saying hello to death and there is at least one (find it for yourself) that actually does have a happy ending. That said, all of the stories do look at life from a far-side point of view and just might cause you to read it again to make certain what you think happened actually did happen. This is not a problem because the stories are short and you will probably read more than one at a sitting.
Plotting is terse and to the point as is required in very short stories. Character development is surprisingly good, again considering the length of the stories. As for style, I would refer you to those mentioned above - Poe, Crypt and Hitchcock.
About the author
Marshland says of himself, “Rolling stone with most of my life spent on the move, living and working in places diverse as East Africa to South America. More recent activities have been based around the Mediterranean ranging from yacht chartering in Greece to fish farming in France. Currently I live in the West Country but admit to itchy feet. But wherever I've been or wherever I am I always write. It has become a habit I find impossible to kick.”
He has published several books including Mr Christopher, Private Lives and Dark Destiny.
Best read at night near a fireplace where the logs are burning while outside it rains and/or the wind is howling. Not recommended for those who insist on reading novels. I can’t help but think it is a shame short stories find it difficult to find their way into print. But for those who want something different I can Highly Recommend A Case of Blackrock Mineral Water. Reviewer: Peter Klein Allbooks Reviews Int. www.allbooksreviewint.com

Title: A Case of Blackrock Mineral Water
Author: Simon Marshland
For more info:http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0056NU8YY

Saturday, February 25, 2012

The 2012 Emirates Airline Festival of Literature will get underway in Dubai on Tuesday March 6th.

As the Middle East's largest celebration of the written and spoken word, the five-day event is set to bring 115 authors, writers and speakers from around the world to the emirate.For more information about the festival, visit http://www.emirateslitfest.com/.

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Review: Acrocanthosarus: The Bones of Contention

Author: Russell Ferrell

So many kids dream of dinosaurs. Stories of these giant beasts and the magnificence of the time when they dominated the earth fill more fantasies than any age of man. Even this reviewer would pick up rocks, and still does, and examine them for traces of a past of which only dreams can be made. Oh so few people actually do stumble upon remnants of creatures that may have lain the seeds of our greatest legends of prehistory.
Cephis Hall, a self-described country boy, and his partner Sid Love discover an intact femur bone of a rare and massive prehistoric predator on property owned by a major corporation. The author intricately describes the attempts of these two locally known fossil hunters to circumvent the involvement of the corporation that owned the land containing the fossil, but as the importance of the find became known it most assuredly drew the attention of the landowner as well the eyes of those in academia who are naturally skeptical of new finds which question the status quo. This is when the true story begins.
Russell Ferrell has crafted an exquisitely detailed account of the journey of this collection of old bones. It is much to his credit that he doesn’t shy away from the ploys of Cephis to gain some sort of permission at the lowest level possible to carry out his dig. The resulting legal and academic circus caused by Cephis’ shortcuts and short-sightedness is quite accurately and somewhat excitedly portrayed by the author.
Whether or not the reader agrees with the contentions of the author on the ability of fossil and mineral hunters to use public and some private lands for their own purposes, this book does make for an interesting read. It provides ammunition for both sides of the discussion.
This is this author’s first published work and shows a dedication to his craft and a great feeling and passion for his subject. This book is available through booksellers everywhere. Reviewer: John Helman, M.A., Allbooks Reviews. Int. www.allbooksreviewint.com.

Title: Acrocanthosarus: The Bones of Contention
Author: Russell Ferrell
Publisher: Malloy
ISBN: 978-0-615-43814-6
Pages: 448

Monday, February 20, 2012

Male Reviewer has done it again

So here we are again. I thought after the Great Jonathan Franzen Debacle of 2001, no man would ever again dare to suggest publicly that there is an inferior class of books that only women read. Then Douglas Brinkley did it in this morning's New York Times Book Review. In his review of Jodi Kantor's "The Obamas," published in January, he wrote:

Call it chick nonfiction, if you will; this book is not about politics, it's about marriage...


Friday, February 3, 2012

Review of One Small Victory by Maryann Miller

Excellent! That is one small word that hardly describes a novel written with such heart. This is a story of a young mother who is faced with the death of her teenage son. He is not involved with drugs but his friend who was driving was, and this friend survived. The crush of pain left me breathless as I read and tried to imagine how Jenny must feel as she mourns. The description of this period in time was so intense that I had to cry along with her. Yet, Jenny must be strong because her daughter and youngest son need her. As the fog begins to clear she is given the chance to become an informant for the police and help eradicate a major drug ring in her town. These people are selling drugs to the local kids and she has been a witness to these handoffs. But the lies silence and intrigue that is entailed in helping the police turns her son and her best friend away from her. She wonders if it is worth the possibility of losing those most important to her. Is it worth the risk of losing her own life? But with strength and trepidation, Jenny moves forward with her plan. She is a master at changing her identity from doting mother to street walker looking for a fix, but many times she is so close to a degree of danger that no ordinary mother would ever experience. She must go ahead, for her dead son, her remaining two children and for all of the young people in her town.
Maryann Miller is an accomplished writer, weaving her tale of intrigue, romance and determination. She takes her readers on a wild ride of adventure that will not be soon forgotten.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED Reviewer: Elaine Fuhr, Allbooks Reviews Int. www.allbooksreviewint.com

Title: One Small Victory
Author: Maryann Miller
Publisher: Books We Love Publishing Partners
ISBN: 978-1-926965-4
For more info: http://its-not-all-gravy.blogspot.com/

Wednesday, February 1, 2012

Review of The Ordinary Life & Extraordinary Death of Josh Turner

Author: David Treciak

I’m advising readers to read, re-read, and study the ending of this book because it is, in my estimation, pure literary genius. Not an easy job, conveying a dying man’s myriad thoughts and interactions throughout a whole novel in a manner that keeps the reader turning pages, but the author does it with a cerebral, yet tongue-in-cheek style that smacks a little of J.D. Salinger. Yep, it’s that good.
Josh Turner is dying, a painful and slow cancerous death. His mind whirls with amazing insights and he examines his fears and philosophies even as he’s forced into a retreat of Coltrane tapes and morphine. The author tells us this about Josh’s pain, quote: “The beast has come out to play and it’s brought a chainsaw.” Well said, huh? And Josh’s companion on this Jack Kerouac-style journey of the mind toward resolution is a cosmic apparition, a stubborn extra-terrestrial named Max. Between nostalgic, surreal excursions with Max, Josh deals with a continual stream of nurses and visitors to his hospital bed, including a fascinating run-in with a determined evangelist. And there are Josh’s well-meaning friends, colorful characters who have him illegally pigging out on fast food and even sort have him of playing cupid—all done with snappy, engaging dialogue. When you pick up this book, be prepared to be engaged with humor, sarcasm, joy, fear, regret, great chunks of delicious nostalgia, and a wide spectrum of emotions all bracketed by quantum physics, visions of reincarnation, and even thoughts about the Kevorkian solution. Make no mistake: this is a hugely entertaining book, even as it is quite profound.
The author bio tells us that David Treciak is an award-winning writer with a number of stories and screenplays to his credit. He now lives in L.A. but originally hails from Detroit. They say he’s an avid student of life. Yeah, well, that’s self-evident in his writing. They say he tells tales that’ll make us laugh, cry, and scratch our heads in wonder as the profundity of what he has written sinks in. True enough, and like Treciak’s compelling literary style—well said. Highly Recommended by reviewer: Jan Evan Whitford, Allbooks Reviews
Published by: Amberlin Press ©2011
ISBN: 978-0-9836694-0-1
Trade Paperback 197pages
US $15.95
For more info: www.davidtreciak.com

Review of Covert Element by John L. Betcher

America’s war on drugs has touched an untold number of lives and cost national treasure that could have been used in so many better ways. This story of a small town detective’s involvement in this war makes for compelling reading.
The seeds for this episode were laid in a U.S. Special Forces operation some years before in Mexico. The raid was successful in its initial goal, but it set the stage for the problems that would soon face James Becker and his wife in northern hamlet of Red Wing, Minnesota as evil will always fill in gaps and look for new paths of expansion.
This is the third book in a series featuring detective James “Beck” Becker and his wife Beth. If the first two volumes are close to this one in being skillfully crafted and well written they should be worth seeking out.
This reviewer was quite impressed with the detail with which the opening scenes were written. The detail with which the soldiers who carried out the raid provided a plausible reality of how such feats are accomplished relying on limited supply without the fantasies provided to us by Hollywood.
The foundation of this admirable thriller though is the display of the entrepreneurial spirit of the drug traffickers/manufacturers. They know all too well that is far easier and way more profitable to shorten lines of supply. If the drug can be manufactured close to the source of consumption then the risk of law enforcement intervention is greatly reduced. Why bring cocaine from South America when there is just as great a demand for methamphetamine which can be produced in large quantities cheaply near the consumer.
Yes, this is a fictional thriller, but having an exceedingly realistic plotline runs a chill up this reader’s spine which commends this book very well.
Reviewer: John Helman, Allbooks Reviews.
Title: The Covert Element
Author: John L. Betcher
Publisher: John L. Betcher
ISBN: 9781461084532
Pages: 264
Price: $15.95
For more info: http://www.independentauthornetwork.com/john-l-betcher.html