Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Interview with Karl Puttlitz, author of 'Red, White and Boom'

Please state your name and location. (city and State or Province, Country)
Karl Puttlitz
Wappingers Falls, NY 12590
Tell us the title and publisher of your book:
Book Title: Red, White and Boom
Publisher: Adventure Street Press

When was the book released?:
September, 2011

Give us an overview of your book.
Special Agent Jeb Foster and the Rapid Intervention Team he leads are recruited to help the Russians retrieve quantities of stolen weapons-grade nuclear material. He was informed that an estimated 500 tons of highly-enriched uranium not covered by treaty was scattered at various sites around Russia - enough to produce 20,000 to 60,000 nuclear weapons. The problem was that although the U.S. and other countries were assisting the Russians to secure these stockpiles, many were known to be vulnerable. In fact, there was an additional quantity used for non-weapons purposes at facilities only lightly guarded or not guarded at all, making it easy for nuclear thieves to take what they wanted. This situation posed an inviting condition for the uranium to fall into nefarious hands. Almost from the beginning Jeb had a really bad feeling about the assignment when learning that not one, but multiple thefts had taken place from supposedly secure locations. His initial fears erupted into a nightmare with the mission constantly being thwarted by old-school, hard-line Russian politicians and military officers, and so too by unknown adversaries who anticipated his every move. Jeb and the A-Team’s quest took them to secret cities where few outsiders had ever set foot. Sabotage left him stranded in the Arctic wilderness having to deal with the unforgiving conditions of the Siberian winter, from which survival is near impossible. Additionally, as time was running short Jeb feared the thieves would escape Russia with the stolen nuclear material. The body count of those who could have provided valuable information had steadily mounted, making his task all the more difficult. He knew if the stolen material passed into the hands of terrorists, who likely contracted for its theft, it would be for the sole purpose of delivering an unthinkably devastating blow to several major American cities.

What inspired you to write this book?
In addition to providing readers with a suspenseful novel, I also wanted them to be mindful that we live in dangerous times—in just a few moments everything can change. It occurred to me how often I’d been in the Twin Towers with family and friends before they were toppled and reduced to ruble without warning on a beautiful, clear, sunny September day. As horrific as that was, the truth is it could have been much worse—it could have been an explosion involving nuclear, that is, radioactive materials. This book makes it clear that scenario is an all-to-real possibility. We need to be vigilant as never before.

How is your book different from other books in this genre?
Given my rather unusual background as an author, PhD in metallurgical engineering—with some formal studies in atomical nuclear physics, my more than 4 decades as a research and development engineer, having been retained in more than 150 litigation matters as a forensic metallurgist, and having lectured all over the world, I bring to the table vast, diverse, and unique experiences to draw upon and apply to my writing that are not found in other works.

Where can people buy your book?
The book can be purchased at www.adstpress.com, www.atlasbooks.com, or at your favorite online bookstore.

Are you working on another book? If so when do you expect it to be published?
Yes, I am working on another book and expect it will be published sometime in the first quarter of 2013.

If you self published, what advice can you give to fellow writers?
The various self-publishing guide books all have one thing in common—giving you the impression it’s a done deal following a few easy steps—it’s not! First of all, there are many steps and it all takes longer than you might have anticipated. As authors, we all feel a great sense of accomplishment with the final-draft manuscript in our hands and are certainly entitled to that. But the reality is the real work is yet to be done—successfully marketing that work. My advice, therefore, is to actively pursue every marketing opportunity. You personally must get involved. If you wait for others to make your book a success it probably will not happen.

Can you share one of your marketing successes with us?
One of the best opportunities we’ve run across is to have the work displayed at a regional book show—not just any show, but one specifically designated for librarians. Realizing they can’t review all the books at the show, those interested in follow-up from authors and publishers leave a complete set of contact information as part of a database from which mailings can easily be made. We have typically received between 50 to over 400 contacts from each such show. These are people empowered and ready to purchase.

How did you find Allbooks Reviews and what are you hoping for in your relationship with us?
Allbooks Reviews was among a list of review organizations that came to our attention through a lot of research on our part. Our relationship interest is two-fold: obtain a fair appraisal of the novel “Red, White and Boom”—which was done and we are very grateful; and gain publicity for the book via internet postings of the review and this interview, as well as other methods you utilize to gain publicity.

Was the low cost a surprise? What other things would you like Allbooks Reviews to offer writers?
I very much appreciate Allbook Review’s desire to assist talented and hardworking writers gain a vehicle for recognition in a very cluttered and difficult-to-navigate field. Accordingly, what would benefit me, Adventure Street Press, and I presume all of your clients are a compilation of various marketing methods that others have found to be successful. Not just things cited in self-publishing handbooks to fill pages, but tried-and-true methods that others have found to be worthy of investing time and money.

Thank you for this interview and best of luck with your book.

Friday, January 27, 2012

Interview with Robbi S. Bryant, author of The Beautiful Evil

Please state your name and location. (city and State or Province, Country)

Robbi Sommers Bryant
Santa Rosa, Ca

Tell us the title and publisher of your book:

The Beautiful Evil
Self-published through Create Space

Tell us about yourself:

Robbi Sommers Bryant published works include 4 novels, 5 short story collections and 1 book of poetry. Her work has been published in magazines including Readers Digest, Redbook, Cupido and Penthouse and included in several anthologies. After the sudden death of her 21-year-old son in the late 1990's, Robbi's passion and creative flame extinguished. She only began writing again last year. Robbi has recently retired as a dental hygienist. She has also worked as a licensed esthetician and a certified massage therapist. Once a disco dance teacher and tarot card reader/teacher, Robbi has dabbled in many of life's experiences. She is married and is the mother of three sons. Justin 1976-1997, Brian and Nick (twins, age 28.) The Beautiful Evil, a novel, is her first major work since her son passed.

When was the book released?:

July 2, 2011

Give us an overview of your book.

A cynical and emotionally bereft homemaker purchases and opens an antique Greek vase, unleashing an insidious evil into her life. Spiraling into a world of untrustworthy men, addictive drugs, and murder, she suddenly finds herself staring into a dark abyss, forced to make one final, heart-rending decision if she is to find the peace seeks. The Beautiful Evil is a captivating psychological thriller that will keep you questioning reality until the ultimate, final act.

What inspired you to write this book?

My love of mythology, a quote about hope being 'the worst of all evils' by Nietzsche and my fascination with good vs evil, fueled my creativity and inspiration for The Beautiful Evil.

How is your book different from other books in this genre?
When one hears the word, psychological thriller, the first thought is serial killer or abductions. The Beautiful Evil redefines the genre, Psychological Thriller with its cutting edge style, disturbing situations and unique characters.

Where can people buy your book?

Amazon.com: Paperback and Kindle
Barnes & Noble Nook

Are you working on another book? If so when do you expect it to be published?

Yes, I have 2 projects in the works. Hopefully, one of them will be ready to publish in approximately 1-2 years.

If you self published, what advice can you give to fellow writers?

I published through Create Space and they did an absolutely awesome job. My advice: Be prepared to wear many hats...from writer to marketer, there's a lot to be done. Be prepared!

If published traditionally, tell us how you benefited:

Can you share one of your marketing successes with us? I am building The

Beautiful Evil into a best seller, one book at a time. I always have books and promo material wherever I go and try to sell at least one book a every day.

How did you find Allbooks Reviews and what are you hoping for in your relationship with us?

I found ALLbooks Reviews mentioned on another site and researched it. My hope is that we bring each other closer to our personal goals.

Was the low cost a surprise? What other things would you like Allbooks Reviews to offer writers?

It would be nice to have a place that sets authors on their way with good marketing ideas.

Thank you for this interview and best of luck with your book.

Interview with Lisa Taylor, author of The Hour of Tiamat

Please state your name and location. (city and State or Province, Country)

Lisa Taylor and I live in Winchester, Kentucky, USA

Tell us the title and publisher of your book:
The Hour of Tiamat published by AuthorHouse

Tell us about yourself:
I’ve kind of jumped all over the place. I graduated from The United States Military Academy at West Point in May of 2010 but my military career was cut short. I was medically discharged from the Army soon after graduation. I attended graduate school studying physics for a semester, but soon realized that it wasn’t the career I wanted. That’s when I began to publish my writing.

When was the book released?:
June of 2011

Give us an overview of your book.
It is based on Sumerian mythology, a topic I have always found fascinating. Four teenagers have found an ancient book, the Necronomicon, which is full of knowledge of the Sumerian Gods. The book starts on the night that they perform a forbidden ritual to bring those Gods back to the Earth, putting themselves in line for a reward of power.
One of the teens, though, is not like the others, and only does the ritual out of fear for his life; but when he is faced with killing again or turning against the Gods, he embarks on a mission to stop what he has begun before it’s too late.
It’s a book where destinies collide and nothing is really what it seems. Secrets abound and the main characters, Evelyn and Tristan, will each have to face their own demons if they ever hope to understand each other.
What inspired you to write this book?
In high school (and still today) I was fascinated by ancient cultures. My research into Sumerian mythology coupled with my love for H.P. Lovecraft’s short stories inspired this book.

How is your book different from other books in this genre?
While the book is fiction, it is based on real historical interpretations. It has a little bit for everyone; history, horror, intense emotional growth and even a little romance.

Where can people buy your book?
They can buy it many places. It is for sale on Amazon and barnesandnoble.com. Barnes and Noble bookstores can also order it for you. For the cheapest prices, though, readers should look at my website, http://www.creatingworldswithwords.com

Are you working on another book? If so when do you expect it to be published?
Yes, the first of a young adult fantasy trilogy called Crystalized (Book 1 of the Crystal Chronicles) and it is close to finished. I plan to publish this trilogy traditionally, through an agent, so it will most likely be another year before it is released for sale.

If you self published, what advice can you give to fellow writers?
Network, network, network. There are a lot of indie authors out there willing to do mutual promotions. Also, research and teach yourself about online marketing and social networks ahead of time. Lastly, don’t pay to be published. There are a lot of small, indie presses out there; find them.

If published traditionally, tell us how you benefited:
Can you share one of your marketing successes with us?
Social networks have led to most of my sales, especially twitter. I’ve found I can build a large following simply by remembering my manners and being social.

How did you find Allbooks Reviews and what are you hoping for in your relationship with us?
I found Albooks while searching google for book reviewers. Reviews help tremendously in how your book is presented in places like amazon.

Was the low cost a surprise? What other things would you like Allbooks Reviews to offer writers?
The low cost wasn’t a surprise since I had never paid for any review service. It was worth it though to get my book reviewed by a credible reviewing company.

Thank you for this interview and best of luck with your book.

Monday, January 23, 2012

Review of Dark Victory by P. J. O'Dwyer

She knows the truth in her heart yet nobody else believes her. They say it was an accident when she knows it was anything but. Frustration builds to dangerous proportions as she confronts the doubts of the people around her who think she is losing her mind. This is what Bren Ryan faces after the death of her husband, Tom, when she is sent into a tailspin of despair as her life falls apart before her eyes. Grieving heavily yet filled with anger, she vows to find her husband's murderer, while fighting to save her home and her family’s horse rescue business and at the same time help her children adjust to the loss of their father - a tough go for anyone, but Bren is stubborn to a fault and will let nothing stop her from reaching her goal. Then factor in Rafe, the mysterious stranger who appears out of nowhere to help Bren's cause, but who may not be what he seems, and you have a story that latches on to you and will not let go.
Right from the first chapter of Dark Victory I was hooked, and the wheels in my brain started turning, contemplating the possible explanations for Tom's death. But the author, P.J. O'Dwyer, is skilled at her craft because each time I thought I had the mystery figured out, she threw in a curve ball which totally changed the game. However, the main questions remain throughout –can Bren prove her theory that her long-time enemy and kill buyer by profession, Wes Connelly, is somehow connected to Tom’s death and can she thwart his continued efforts to make money from the sale of innocent horses to the slaughterhouse? Bren’s love of horses has kept her fighting these injustices throughout her life, and following Tom’s death she continues to aspire to protect those who can’t protect themselves, with total disregard to the cost or danger to herself, danger that traverses borders and puts her life in jeopardy on more than one occasion.Just as important, can Bren put Tom's ghost behind her and move on to happiness, will the secret that Rafe hides come out, and will it destroy the bond that seems to be growing between them or bring them closer?
It's hard not to have compassion and also respect for Bren's character. On the one hand she is a truly grieving widow who can hardly function at times but is trying her best to stay strong for her two sons. She is struggling to keep afloat while dealing with the guilt she feels over her husband's death, but on the other hand she is tough as nails and a fighter, and she will not take no for an answer when it comes to solving the mystery of her husband's death. Anybody who gets in her way is asking for trouble! Bren was always headstrong, and it was Tom who was the calming influence in her life, but without him she feels like she doesn't have any support from anywhere, and she feels like a total failure. Bren rides a seesaw of emotions throughout the story, and it is absolutely heart wrenching watching the pain and heartbreak that she has to endure over and over again. O'Dwyer is a master at putting emotion to paper and making it convincing.
Bren is surrounded by a varied cast of friends and family who make the story rich. In the first few pages we are introduced to Bren's baby, Finn, a sensitive 7 year old who after a year still has questions about what happened to his father, and later on we encounter Bren's 15 year old son, Aiden, who is struggling with his feelings as a teenager to begin with but even more so because he has lost his father who he had a very close bond with. Then there is Kevin Bendix, the sheriff of Washington County, who has been friends with Bren and Tom since childhood and would do anything for Bren, but who frustrates her to no end because he thinks she is going overboard with her theories and just wants her to move on and forget about everything. We also meet local equine vet, Jeremy Breakstone, and his wife, Jo, who is Bren's best friend and her shoulder to lean on. Finally, to add a little spice to the mix the tall, dark and handsome stranger, Rafe Langston, shows up from Texas at the right time and in the right place, but the reader is constantly challenged to figure out whether he is there for the right reasons or not.
The suspense throughout this story was intense and the twists shocking. It was like rafting down rapids, where your heart is racing and you can't relax until you finally reach a calm stretch of water and you take a deep breath thinking the worst is over, when all of a sudden your raft shoots over a waterfall. O'Dwyer does throw out fairly frequent clues right from the beginning which allow the reader to form theories about certain aspects of the plot, but she kept me totally in the dark with respect to others, with the end result being high intensity at its best. This story definitely gives the heart a workout in every possible way - suspense that has it pounding non-stop, romance that has it thumping, and frustration, anger and deep sorrow that hold it clenched in a vice. I would definitely recommend Dark Victory. I could not put it down!

Reviewer: Cindy Taylor, www.allbooksreviewint.com
Title: Dark Victory
Author: P.J. O’Dwyer
Format: ebook
September, 2011

The Adventures of Joe-Joe Nut & Biscuit Bill by Renee Hand

Illustrator: Jake Karwoski

When Melinda was finally ready to talk, she sat down in a chair across from them. She held her head high, took a deep breath, and began. “My daughter collects rocks and minerals, you see, and one of her favourite minerals was stolen from her collection.”

After one seemingly ordinary afternoon with her friends Maple Moo’s day turns out to be terrible when she finds her favourite, not to mention expensive mineral. Detectives; Joe-Joe Nut and Biscuit Bill are on the case and they mean to do it quickly. Scoping out possible suspects they analyze the mystery and along the way learn numerous facts about rocks and minerals.

Renee Hand has created a fun and interesting way of teaching kids new facts about rocks and minerals. Her writing style is easy to follow and perfect for children and preteens, especially those who lack an interest in reading because it will certainly spike their interest in books and geology. Amongst the pages you will find the artwork of the illustrator Jake Karwoski which really adds to the story, they are done very well and the reader will certainly appreciate the addition that visuals make within the book.

Overall this book is a wonderful addition to any bookshelf at schools, libraries and in kid’s collections everywhere. Recommended by reviewer, Kirsten Bussière, Allbooks Reviews International www.allbooksreviewint.com.

Title: The Adventures of Joe-Joe Nut & Biscuit Bill, Case #2: Mineral Mischief
Author: Renee Hand
Price: 9.95$
I.S.B.N: 978-0-87839-415-9
Publisher: North Star Press (northstarpress.com)
For more info: www.reneeahand.com

Review of Traitors Among Us by S.R.Claridge

Many popular writers will tell you the first sentence of a novel is the most important; it should hook the reader right away. In fact, I’ve heard that Stephen King actually collects excellent first lines from other writers via his website. Well, if so, S.R. Claridge should send him the first line of TRAITORS AMONG US because it does just that: snares you immediately. Having recently read TETTERBAUM’S TRUTH, the first in this author’s “Just Call Me Angel” series, I was elated to find I was headed for another thrilling page-turner. Angel is back, in the second of, hopefully, many more novels. And once again we’re treated to Angel’s ornery, matchmaking and feisty Aunt Olga again, as well as two of Angel’s former lovers, and some colorful new characters to say the least.
Okay, here’s the jist. Angel’s mother, missing since Angel was eighteen years old, shows up. If Angel can find her, that is. And that’s pretty much the primary quest here for our protagonist. Of course, many obstacles abound thwarting the quest such as: complications provided by Angel’s romantic entanglements and long-held secrets as well as intricate power plays by the Chicago Mafia and even the New York Five Families. Add to that a scary dude called “The Shark”, plus ominous and deadly elements of the Russian underworld, and you get the picture: murder, suspense, and thrills—all enmeshed in wild, intelligent plotting from the fertile mind of this fine new author. I enjoyed her first book, but this one is even better and I’ll tell you why. There’s a new element among the mystery, suspense, and romance and it’s humor. And well done, too. She’s written in a new, quirky character whose dialogue is laugh-out-loud funny. He’s Angels’ spiky-haired, gun-happy, self-appointed bodyguard, done up in a style not unlike some of Janet Evanovich’s characters. You’ll love him!
S.R. Claridge, the author, has a background in theater and has written scripts for several venues. She says her background in theatre and psychology helps her fill the pages of each novel with enough dramatic suspense to keep readers guessing until the very end. And that’s exactly what she does. Throughout, you never know whom to believe. Claridge currently lives in Colorado and loves to hunker down in front of her computer with a Vodka Martini and write away. Well, that’s fine by me; I’m ready for more. Highly Recommended by reviewer: Jan Evan Whitford, Allbooks Reviews

Traitors Among Us
S. R. Claridge
Published by: Vanilla Heart Publishing ©2011
ISBN: 978-1-935407-14-2
Trade Paperback 226pages
US $13.95
For more infor: www.AuthorSRClaridge.com

Wednesday, January 18, 2012

Review of That Certain Summer by Mary Verdick

That Certain Summer is the story of a girl names Sally Grimes. Sally is from Winner, Iowa and her dream is to one day be a writer but so far she is only an advice column writer for the local newspaper. A job writing the life story of Diane Fenwick might just be Sally’s chance to make it big. So Sally travels to Diane’s beach front property in Connecticut and she surprisingly finds that Diane has children. Diane also has a dog named Rufus who is more intelligent than anyone expects of a dog.
Diane has to leave almost immediately after Sally arrives and it seems that Sally see’s more of Alex and Megan, Diane’s seven year old twins, than she does of Diane herself. Sally also falls in love with the handsome Ricardo, who works for Diane’s landlord Mr. Morley-Watts. Sally, Ricardo, and the twins get to do lots of activities together but Sally begins to wonder whether she was hired as a writer of a babysitter. Sally soon finds out that there is more going on with Diane, Ricardo, and Morley-Watts’ than she expected and suddenly Sally is in the middle of a very dangerous situation.
That Certain Summer is a summer romance story with an exciting twist. The story is definitely a page turner and keeps a readers interest. A reader will be able to imagine exactly what is happening in the book as if it is happening right there in front of them. The characters are well developed and each one has great personalities. A reader is able to easily relate with Sally and what is happening with her through the story.
Mary Verdick is a wonderful writer and with that talent has created a fantastic story. This book is one not to be missed and I would highly recommend it.

Highly Recommended by Reviewer: Chaselyn Kenney, Allbooks Review. www.allbooksreviewint.com

Title: That Certain Summer
Author: Mary Verdick
Publisher: AuthorHouse
Price: $14.49 paperback
Pages: 164
ISBN: 978-1-4520-4744-7
Date of review: August 2011

Review of Tetterbaum's Truth by S.R.Claridge

If you like a strong female lead in a mystery/suspense, then you’ll fall in love with Angel, the protagonist of TETTERBAUM’S TRUTH. She’s one gutsy woman dealing with multiple threats on her life and she rises to the challenge with courage and spunk. I found one page melting into the next in this fast-paced novel; it’s extremely well written and easy to read. Nothing is as it seems and just when you think you’ve got a handle on the good and bad guys, the plot somersaults. And even though it’s pitched as mystery- suspense, it also contains a healthy dollop of romance. Right off the bat we get some exciting romantic conflict, which carries throughout the book.
Here’s how it goes: following a tragic accident to her father, Angel inherits Tetterbaum’s Pub. Even though she has a good head for business, she isn’t the best at choosing men in her life and to make matters worse, her doting aunt is continually fixing her up with losers. Then, an old lover mysteriously appears on the heels of her current lover’s disappearing act. To complicate things, a handsome employee at the pub makes a play for her. Three men: each claiming that the other two want to kill her. Trust her heart, or her intuition? And once the Mafia rears it’s ugly head—with as many serpents as Medusa—the plot screams into full thrust with veiled and unveiled threats, surprise alliances, Machiavellian maneuvering for power, murder, kidnappings, and a wild search for some revealing tapes. Believe me, each chapter will leave you salivating for the next one and the ending will catch you by complete surprise.
S.A. Claridge, the author, has a background in theater and has written scripts for several venues. It is valuable experience that serves her well. She currently lives in Colorado and loves to hunker down in front of her computer with a Vodka Martini and write away. Happily for us, she’s already published TRAITORS AMONG US, the second in her “Just call me Angel” series. I’m impatiently looking forward to reading it. Highly Recommended by reviewer: Jan Evan Whitford, Allbooks Reviews

Published by: Vanilla Heart Publishing ©2011
ISBN: 978-1-935407-89-8
Trade Paperback 231pages
US $14.95
For more info:

Review of Possoons by Rachelle Rogers

Rachelle Rogers has produced a heterogeneous collection of short stories that will entertain and amuse readers from beginning to end.
The short quips in Possoons are really studies in human nature; from the sixty something, Eva to the gay, Julian this author brings her characters to life. In a few sentences we see deep into the psyche and the hearts of the people in the story. Whether happy or sad, grieving or rejoicing, the reader becomes part of the story through empathy and understanding.
My favourite was “Why Stefan had to rent a Sander and Refinish the Floors in Brenda’s bedroom” I laughed till I cried. “Restoration” is a heartfelt story of grief and the realization that life goes on.
Rachelle Rogers is a fiction author, writer and poet. She lives in Asheville, Nc.
Bravo Ms. Rogers, this collection is highly recommended.Reviewer: Shirley A. Roe, Allbooks Review Int.

Tltle: Possoons
Author: Rachelle Rogers
ISBN: 9780615494654
For more info: www.rachellerogers.com

Friday, January 13, 2012

Review for Amazng People of New York

Whether ever having visited there before or not, everyone has their ownmental picture of New York City – the bright lights, millions of people, famous landmarks like the Statue of Liberty, the music of Broadway and the wheeling and dealings of Wall Street. Most of us think of this great city in terms of its recent history, but what about its origins?Amazing People of New York by Dr. Charles Margerison reveals the most memorable events from New York’s history through easy to follow, inspirational stories of the people who made major contributions to the birth and development of this wonderful city.
Starting with Captain Giovanni da Verrazzano, who sailed up the coast of America in the 1500’s and landed near the site of present day New York City, we learn of the many challenges faced in shaping this land of opportunity and how they were overcome. We witness the progression of acceptance of different peoples and religions and the struggle to be their own democratic nation free of British rule. As the population explodes, we follow the lives of dedicated pioneers such as John Peter Zenger, Sojourner Truth, Cornelius Vanderbilt, Theodore Roosevelt, and Margaret Sanger, to name just a few, who fought for change and used their various skills to transform the land and the economy. No challenge was too great for these trailblazers. They fought for what they believed in and conquered the obstacles that often stood in their path. Along the way, we witness every aspect of the development of New York from improvements in health care and education and campaigns for civil rights to free enterprise, business and the creation of unionsand innovations in transportation and communications to bring trade and wealth to the city. Despite various disasters, setbacks and challenges, New York continued to grow through the years and become more prominent in the world until it became the world class city it is today. I was familiar with some of the people mentioned in this book while others I had never heard of, but regardless, I found each story interesting and enlightening.
Amazing People of New York begins with a brief history of New York to whet the appetite which leads into a multi-course meal that will leave the reader totally satisfied. Each course or story is set out in the form of a Bioview, an innovative method of telling the stories of history through the eyes of the people who lived through them and written as if they are giving an interview during their lifetime to a writer or reporter. I especially enjoyed the fact that the author gives each story a personal touch - what the person’s observations and feelings may have been at the time, rather than just all facts and figures. If we look at the introduction as the appetizer and the Bioviews as the main courses, no meal is complete without a delectable dessert, and Margerison does not disappoint with his final section which both surprised and delighted me. Not only does he provide a concise timeline which summarizes the significant events mentioned in the Bioviews, but he also provides lists of films, musicals andsongs about New York, annual celebrations in New York, and best of all a section on Places of Interest in New York which links places to people from the Bioviews and details where to go, what to see and what to do to learn more about these amazing people. All of a sudden the history lesson is transformed into an invaluable guidebook for anyone wanting to visit this famous city. As a result, my desire to visit New York has increased tenfold.
This is the second book that I have read in the Amazing People Club series, and once again I am thoroughly impressed and would love to see this series in our educational system. After many years burning the midnight oil reading history through textbooks for school, I never thought that I would read a non-fiction history book for pleasure, but this series makes it fun and interesting without being laborious, tedious or overwhelming. Amazing People of New York is a thorough, informative and fascinating account of the history of New York City and the people who shaped it into the super city that it is today, all in a neat little package. No item of interest is left out. Kudos to the author for a job very well done, and I look forward to reading more in the series. I highly recommend this book, and in fact the whole series.

Dr. Charles Margerison is a Chartered Psychologist and a member of the Royal Institution and the Royal Literature Society. He is Chairman of Viewpoint Resources Ltd. and was previously Professor of Management at the Universities of Cranfield (UK) and Queensland, Australia. He was also a co-founder of Emerald, the world’s leading publisher of management journals and databases.
Highly recommended by Reviewer: Cindy Taylor, www.allbooksreviewint.com

Title: Amazing People of New York
Author: Dr. Charles Margerison
Format: ebook
Publisher:Amazing People Club Ltd
August, 2011
For more info: http://www.amazingpeopleclub.com/product/amazing-people-new-york

Review of Lost in the Blue Room by Richard Barone

When a disgruntled former sky marshal takes siege of a plane flying above ocean waters, everyone pays attention! Claiming the hijacking is not an act of terrorism, Jack Sky explains to the passengers that he wants the world to understand the invaluable nature of sky marshals. He intends to prove government neglect for passenger safety when the sky marshals were cut back before 9/11. He has written a book that publishers have rejected so he feels his only recourse is forcing people to read it, if they don’t they will be “shark bait.”
John Barefoot is aboard the plane, travelling to his appearance on the ‘Tonight Show.’ Ironically John is a bestselling author in the midst of writing ‘Most Wanted, his own novel about a hijacking. Seated next to him is passenger Marge Fornai. Throughout the book they narrate their experience on a flight gone terribly wrong.
Jack’s story is about Andrea High, an undercover sky marshal whose personal mission is to be the first to take down a skyjacker; thereby proving his point and heroically saving a plane full of people. He takes full advantage of his multiple undercover stories on and off duty by engaging in many different activities of self-indulgence, legal and illegal. Andrea’s escapades take place on board the plane and in different countries on stopovers. He is becomes addicted to the rush of his lifestyle and pays an ultimate price.
Andrea did not count on falling in love with a very complicated flight attendant, nor the drama surrounding their relationship. They share a common thread in living life to the extreme, burning the candle at both ends, not thinking of the long term consequences. Andrea has a history in philosophical controversies and enjoys engaging people in his theories.
The author Richard Barone is a former sky marshal. He has written a tale of terror aboard a plane. Will he make you wonder about who you are sitting next to on the next flight you take?
This is not a book that you will fall asleep reading. You must follow carefully with an open imagination to decipher the intertwined stories and to experience the conclusion. As the author Richard Barone has stated there are sex, violence and drugs to which I will add deceit, rape, abortion, sodomy and magic. This is not a book for the highly moral.
Reviewer: Cheryl Heinrichs, Allbooks Review International @ www.allbookreviewsint.com

Title: Lost in the Blue Room
Author: Richard Barone
Publisher: Canto 34 Press
ISBN-13: 978-0975471166
Pages: 284
Price: $14.95 USD
August 2011
For more info: http://www.amazon.com/Lost-Blue-Room-Richard-Barone/dp/0975471163/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1313780851&sr=1-1

Review of Cassie's Choice by John Deering

Cassie Conway is an energetic, spontaneous seventeen year old with her whole life stretched out ahead of her. Of course, with talents and potentials as great as the ones Cassie possesses comes responsibility and difficult decisions.
Cassie and her twin brother Justin are, because of their mother’s knowledge of the sport as well as her help and support over the years, very promising soccer players. It is their mother’s greatest wish for them to win soccer scholarships at prestigious American universities and live their lives with chances and experiences that she could not give them growing up.
Justin happens to share his mother’s dream for himself but Cassie harbours hopes of her own that are drastically different from anything her mother would ever want for her. Cassie’s late father was a daring, well respected trapeze flyer with the circus. Cassie is well aware that deep down, winning a soccer scholarship would never bring her the happiness or thrill that trapeze flying would. She also knows that following in her father’s footsteps (which she is certain is her path) will cause a rivet in her relationship with her mother, who is dead set against her pursuing the trapeze, though Cassie is a talented gymnast with the potential to do so.
Cassie comes to a barrier that many young people must break through in order to find happiness. Will Cassie live her mother’s dream and win a soccer scholarship, or will she follow her own path and join the trapeze flyers which could mean getting to the bottom of her father’s mysterious death on the trapeze two years before?
John Deering has created an entertaining and inspiring story of friendships and growing-up decisions that we can all relate to. Realistic relationships, colourful characters and interesting settings make “Cassie’s Choice” an enjoyable and enlightening novel that is highly readable and accessible.
Highly Recommended by Reviewer: Alison Griffith, Allbooks Review International www.allbooksreviewint.com

Title: Cassie’s Choice
Author: John Deering
Genre: Young Adult Fiction
Cost: $19.95
Publisher: General Store Publishing House

Monday, January 9, 2012

Review of Learn from Yesterday, Live for Today, Hope for Tomorrow

Author: Barry Parker
As the title states, learn from yesterday, live for today and hope for tomorrow. In no particular order, this book contains several short essays on various ways to live a better and happier life.
The book contains a fairly wide range of topics that all boil down to the same thing: living a happier and stress-free life. The book promotes positive thinking, with various topics on happiness, motivation and enthusiasm. In other words, ‘Don’t let life just pass you by: Enjoy it’. Within each essay are inspirational thoughts and ideas on how to improve your life. Some of these ideas are a little bit obvious, like getting enough sleep and eating health. However, not only are the ideas suggested, better for you physically, but they are better for your emotional well being (your happiness). The essays are in no particular order, so you may flip through the book at your own leisure and pick the topics that interest you or are relevant to you.
Barry Parker is a retired professor of physics and astronomy from Idaho State University. He is the author of several books that are mainly non-fiction science books. Some novels written by this author include: Good Vibrations: The Physics of Music, Feel Great Feel Alive: Seven Steps to Super Health, and Young Einstein.
For a short little inspirational book, Learn from Yesterday, Live for Today, Hope for Tomorrow is recommended by: Margaret Orford, Allbooks Reviews. http://www.allbooksreviewint.com

Title: Learn from Yesterday, Live for Today, Hope for Tomorrow
Author: Barry Parker
Publisher: Stardust Press
ISBN: 978-0-9764076-5-2
Pages: 174 pages
Price: $12.95 US
July 2011

Review of Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma by Patricia Perry

Imagine a wager between God and Lucifer, with the Dean Brothers’ final fate in the balance. Will the Dean Brothers end up with God, or with Lucifer (Gooseberry)? Gooseberry must watch over the as part of the bet.
Part of the bet is to keep the Deans out of trouble, which is not an easy task for anyone, even Old Gooseberry. Why would Gooseberry accept such a wager, especially when keeping track of the Dean Brothers is a full-time job? Who is going to torment the souls in Hades while Lucifer is busy watching over the Deans? This is Lucifer’s favorite pass time, tormenting people and watching over his domain on TV in his office smoking cigars.
Follow along as Old Gooseberry tries his best to keep the Dean Brothers out of trouble so they will end up in heaven. Lucifer is afraid if he loses the bet the Dean Brother will upset his domain and perhaps try to take over from him. This cannot happen.
Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma takes place from late afternoon on Wednesday, thru Saturday until 6:00.01 PM, during which time Lucifer must make sure the Dean Brothers do not get into any serious trouble.
Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma is a fun read that follows Lucifer as he visits and tries to keep the Dean Brothers out of trouble on Earth. He becomes a mere shadow of himself because it takes a lot to keep the Deans out of trouble, that would cause him to lose the bet with God thru his emissary Michael the Archangel, who started to wager in the first place.
You will have to read Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma to see how this wager ends. You may not be able to guess the outcome. Will it be God, or Old Gooseberry? This reviewer found Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma at times, funny, sad, and left to contemplate if things like this really take place.
Grab yourself a copy of Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma, sit in a comfy chair and enjoy the trials and tribulations of Old Gooseberry as he works hard to keep the Dean Brothers out of serious trouble in order to keep them out of his domain, Hades.
This reviewer awards four and one-half out of five stars to Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma and recommends it as a must read. Reviewer Robert Medak, AllBooks Review

Title: Old Gooseberry’s Dilemma
Author: Patricia Perry
Publisher: Infinity Publishing
ISBN: 0-7414-6150-1
Pages: 93
Date: July 28, 2011
For more info: www.buybooksontheweb.com/

Review of This Business of Children by Chloe JonOaul

Vera, a gray-haired, puffy-eyed, plump fourth grade teacher who was in her last year before retirement has a story to tell. It's not the one she had planned to write about when she retired. In fact, she had just wanted to get through the year without incident teaching in a crowded school filled with kids from the “wrong side of the track.” Instead she can't keep her mouth shut, not after what happened to Dee, Mark, or Stu – the other fourth grade teachers in her school.
And so begins the complex story of teachers trying to do their job while juggling the events of their own lives during the school year. Testing needs to be done, children dropped off at school too early need to be given winter hats in order to stay warm, romances are started, betrayal happens, and a teacher needs to grieve the completion of her career.
It's also the year when, “after we watched the Challenger blow up, Dee said to me, “Christ, Vera, there it is – the ultimate shaft of teachers.”
Chloe JonPaul has pulled together an amazing cast of characters throughout the pages of “This Business of Children.” The narrator of the story; Vera, is wildly likable as she tries to weather the storms of what she had thought would be an easy last year. Instead she discovers that life is ever changing and you either have the choice of continually adapting or face the very real prospect of being left behind.
JonPaul, a retired fourth grade teacher herself, fills the book with inside information on the work that goes on behind the books and lessons in a school setting. With compassion she shows us how teachers struggle to keep doing their job under circumstances of deprivation, lack of appreciation, and where there is always a never-ending line of needy students coming through the doors. You teach for the love of teaching, but sometimes not even that is enough to get you through the day.
“This Business of Children” is the well- written, intriguing story of people trying to do the right thing under adverse conditions and it will draw you in from the very first page. You'll sit and read until the book is finished simply awed at what teachers have to face both in and out of the classroom on a daily basis.

Reviewer: Wendy Thomas, Allbooks Reviews. www.allbookreviewsint.com
Title: The Business of Children
Author: Chloe JonPaul
For more info:.Title: This Business of Children
Author: Chloe JonPaul
Publisher: Wasteland Press
ISBN: 978-1-60047-580-1
Pages: 190
Price: 15.95

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Review of Egypt: The Uprising (The Battle for Maat, Book One) by Amira Aly

This first of a multi-volume series has everything from actual modern day political events to an incredibly interesting dose of fantasy and science fiction. This is also a fable for the Egyptian mythology buff to dive into. Its extensive details literally transport you into ancient Egypt and to present day historic sites which range from the Sphinx to Luxor in modern day Egypt. The author, Amira Aly, who is trained as a medical doctor, but is now a freelance writer and editor, has done extensive research in Egyptology and has created this informative and thrilling epic.

“Egypt: The Uprising” begins with real life events: the uprising in Egypt on January 25, 2011, at the Liberation Tahrir Square against the autocratic rule of the 82 year old President Saye Mubasher and the looting of an ancient relic from the Egyptian Museum of Antiquities. There is something for everyone here: romance, jealousy, revenge, post-apocalyptic scenarios, good versus evil, mythical creatures, a seeing blind man, and much more.

The best part is that readers can easily identify with the main character, Aya, an unassuming down to earth ordinary present-day media savvy youth (a regular schmuck, according to the author) whose main concern is to protect her twin brother. Little did she know that in doing this everyday task of watching over her weaker twin, she somehow “summons the other world” and becomes unwittingly involved in finding the stolen ancient relic which is the key to deactivating the doomsday device that will end the world. You have to read it to find out how that is possible. In the process, you are in for the ride of your life.

This high tech eBook has Aya writing to her readers through blogging and other modern social media platforms. Even Maat, the ancient Egyptian Goddess of Justice and Order, is high tech. She communicates through instant messaging, preferring it to the “more complicated and unorthodox way”.

The author, herself an Egyptian, living in Cairo, Egypt, writes in such an
intimate and conversational way that she makes this tale easy and enjoyable to read. The
question here is, is Aya’s still missing mother who is an anthropologist, somehow related
to Nour, the romance in Aya’s life? Could he be her half-brother since Nour has an
Egyptian mother and his father is also somehow entangled in this bid to save the world?
Well, we will know soon since Book Two is in the process of being written.

Highly Recommended by Reviewer: Yuke Man, Allbooks Review International

Genre: Fantasy Contemporary eBooks
Title: Egypt: The Uprising (The Battle for Maat, Book One)
Author: Amira Aly
Publisher: Published in eBook format by eBookIt.com
ISBN-13: 978-1-4566-0340-3
Price: $2.51
July 2011
For more info: http://www.battleformaat.com/p/buy-my-books.html

Review of The Battle for Tomorrow: A Fable by Dr. Stuart Jeanne Bramhall

In “The Battle for Tomorrow: A Fable”, you will read about current catastrophes facing our world from a totally different perspective.

This fascinating tale is about a vivacious 16-year-old girl who is headstrong and clearly independent. She has been through a lot - two pregnancies, and an equal number of abortions. She has to care for a disabled mother because the caregivers rarely last more than a few months. However, her little world is shattered when she develops a relationship with a 23-year-old nurse-cum-activist. He exposes her to his political and environmental ideals - combating the way the government deals with climate change and the downward spiraling economy. Soon, she believes in her boyfriend’s ideals as much as he does, even joining him on her first protest march! She becomes concerned about the effect these issues will have on young people like herself. In fact, she is so concerned about them that she leaves her home in Seattle and makes the long journey to Washington, D.C. She journeys that far for a non-violent resistance- training course - basically code for getting-arrested-for-civil-disobedience training. Not that she really wants to be arrested. Nevertheless, she jumps at the chance to be totally independent and is soon off on a journey that will change her life forever.

Dr. Stuart Jeanne Bramhall strikes me as a superb author, showing remarkable insight into the mind of this 16-year-old activist. This award-winning book will captivate and inspire the inner activist in all who read it!

Highly Recommended by reviewer: Cecilia Lee, Allbooks Review International

Title: The Battle for Tomorrow: A Fable
Author: Dr. Stuart Jeanne Bramhall
Publisher: Strategic Book Group
ISBN: 978-1-61204-219-0
Price: $18.95
July 2011
For more info: www.stuartbramhall.com

Review of 'the dreaming' by David Pelletier

On the surface, this tale seems normal - three young siblings are taken from the Australian outback to the city to be looked after by their relatives. However, there is more to it than meets the eye, making this thriller intriguing, terrifying and satisfying.

In fact, the way to read this book is to suspend your logic and let it lead you by your emotions. In this way, you will be shockingly surprised by what seemed like reality all along, but was actually intermingled in a dream, hence the title of the book: “the dreaming”. Indeed, it is about a dream, but of a different kind and written from a unique perspective.

This book is about making right a wrong done to a vulnerable member of society and what it takes to protect another vulnerable member from being killed. Because the tale is set in an ancient society and the description of the landscape is so vivid and authentic, it makes its “dream” content not so far-fetched after all.

David Pelletier, although a first time author, is both subtle and imaginative in creating such a unique, disturbing tale. He does it by disguising an easy to read narrative into something altogether “out of this world”.

I highly recommend this book to readers who are curious and want their imagination stretched to the extent that they will say “yes, it is possible, this dreaming and the metaphysical affecting reality and justice….”. Read it, and trust me, you will want to read it again and ponder some more!
Reviewer: Yuke Man, Allbooks Review International

Genre: Fiction
Title: the dreaming
Author: David Pelletier
Publisher: Dragonfall Press
ISBN: 978-0-9806341-3-6
Price: $19.95
July 2011