Friday, February 25, 2011


courtesy of Allbooks Review International:
That sign of old age, extolling the past at the expense of the present. -Sydney Smith, writer and clergyman (1771-1845)

Tuesday, February 22, 2011

Courtesy of Allbooks Review

Lately, I have been entranced with Ralph Waldo Emerson. Please ready aboutmy thoughts and readings in this week's blog:

Saturday, February 19, 2011

Allbooks Reveiw quote of the Month

According to a Newsweek article:"The transformation of the book industry has reached a tipping point. Electronic books now outsell paperbacks on Amazon, the retailer recently announced. And Borders, the second-largest bookstore chain in the United States, is reportedly considering a bankruptcy filing.

The Shard Fence

Genre: Fiction
Author: Keith Madsen

A shard Fence is a barricade made from broken glass and bits of sharp objects placed on the top of a wall intending to keep people out. But, as all young men know, a fence is always a challenge to see if you can get over it unharmed. It is this fence that sets the tone for The Shard Fence.
Brandon McCallister, an American youth who is running away from a few of his own demons responds to a request through a Facebook connection to help Brazilian children at a church in Belo Horizonte learn English and piano. Shortly after he arrives, however, he is exposed to murders committed in the name of drug lords. The pastor of the church is one of those killed in the senseless violence. Instead of running back to the safety of the United States, Brandon stays in Brazil working with the woman, Aline who had originally invited him to help the community reject the violence and use faith and encouragement to create a positive from where before was only negative.
Keith Madsen is an American Baptist Minister who has served churches in Kansas, Washington, Oregon and New Jersey.Presently he is the Associate Pastor of Wilson Memorial Union Church in Watching, New Jersey. In his pastoral capacity he has counseled many families who have lost teenagers and children, a central part of the story in his book: Searching for Eden. He has also had an intense personal interest not only in the biblical stories about human origins, but also in historical and archaeological research into that subject. He has long thought that had he not become a minister, he would have liked to have become an archaeologist.
The Shard Fence is based on Madsen's short-term mission trip to Belo Horizonte, Brazil where he worked at the Junta Administrativa de Missões, called JAMI, a training school for Brazilian Baptists going out on mission work. Madsen is dedicating 20% of his book's proceeds to the work of JAMI.
Well written with true, compelling dialogue, a pace that never gives up and a few good twists, The Shard Fence is an inspirational story of how faith in the goodness of others ultimately wins over violence and disillusionment. I give this book an Above Average rating.
Highly Recommended by Reviewer: Wendy Thomas, Allbooks Reviews.
Title: The Shard Fence
Author: Keith Madsen
Publisher: Club Lighthouse Publishing E-book
ISBN: 978-1-926839-28-8
Sept. 2010
Pages: 146

BELLYACHE: A Delicous Tale

Genre: Children’ Fiction
Author: Crystal Marcos

BELLYACHE: A Delicious Tale is a wonderful book filled with action that your young ones will love to read.
Peter Fischer gets invited to work at his grandfather's sweet shop, and he can't wait to try all the yummy delights. He eats one too many treats and is transported to a magical town where everything is made of candy! Unfortunately, he finds "candy" enemies. Thankfully, though, he finds "candy" friends. Even better, he finds out that his grandma was probably there a long time ago. Then the most interesting part; his best friend from the human world has also been transported there! How did that happen?

Author Crystal Marcos does not leave us "hanging", but perfects a clever way to tell us more. However, all too soon, his adventure ends. No time to worry about that though! Another one springs up, requiring more skills than before.

Crystal Marcos provides a moving tale to help us learn to forgive, no matter how hard it is. Although this is her first book, she displays through it her startling ability to teach a difficult matter in a fun and appealing way that children will understand. Kids will want to read this book over and over again! Reviewer ~ Cecilia Lee, Allbooks Review

Publisher ~ © 2010 Cat Marcs Publishing / Washington ~
ISBN ~ 978-0-9843899-0-2 Pages ~ 145
Price ~ US $9.95
Date (published) ~ 2010
Date (reviewed) ~ October 2010

Wednesday, February 16, 2011

Laney: The Brookehaven Vampires

Genre: Fantasy
Author: Joann I. Martin Sowles

Laney and Kiera are your typical teen students; love to party, love to mingle with others, and love to catch the perfect guy, Oliver to be precise. Laney does…but doesn’t realize what she got herself into just yet.

Miss Sowles captures the young adult voice, moves the story forward with vivid descriptions and that necessary, suspenseful pull ‘are they going to hook up? What’s going to happen?’

I have to admit, however, the story reminded me of The Vampire Diaries and Twilight, where young human girls fall for the wrong type…vampires. Regardless, the twists and adventure in this book does hold its own, making it a quick and fun read. Being a vampire fiction lover, these similarities to these other books didn’t sway me. The important aspect for me was that the author was able to authenticate her own characters and make them believable to me, to pull me into their storyline. From the way the book ended I’m assuming a follow-up will be published to make this into a series, and I’m looking forward following Laney, Oliver, Kiera, and the others to new adventures. Allbooks Reviewer: Lea Schizas

Laney: The Brookehaven Vampires
By Joann I. Martin Sowles
Young Adult Fantasy
Published by Brookehaven Publishing
ISBN: 978-0-9844867-0-0
Release: Oct 2010-10-02
Pages: 296
Price: 19.99

Monday, February 14, 2011

Allbooks Review: THOUGHT FOR TODAY

Language is not an abstract construction of the learned, or of dictionary makers, but is something arising out of the work, needs, ties, joys, affections, tastes, of long generations of humanity, and has its bases broad and low, close to the ground. -Noah Webster, lexicographer (1758-1843)

Sunday, February 13, 2011

The Sundancer

Genre: children’s fiction
Title: The Sundancer
Author: Ben Joy

Every day, a young boy rises before the sun to complete his job. Every day, he puts on his best running shoes and runs out to the pier. Every day, he dances for the sun. He is the Sundancer.
Though the character he’s created may have only one job, Ben Joy is many things besides a talented author. His childhood as a “small-town boy” set the backdrop of this story, and his travels will have undoubtedly inspired him to write many, many more in the future.
This book is suited for anyone with who’s ever asked themselves why the sun rises every morning. A charming and enchanting tale, The Sundancer is highly recommended by
Boyu Huang, Allbooks Review.

ISBN number: 978-0-9823009-2-3
Publisher: Lily Ruth Publishing
Number of pages: 26
Price: US $11.95 / CAN $13.95
Oct. 2010

Postscripts from Mindanao

Genre: History / Geography
Title: Postscripts from Mindanao
Author: Wilma ‘Cookie’ B. Villanueva

Contrasts have filled the history of humankind and the world of nature. It is commonly known that some of the most beautiful plants and animals hide deadly secrets. The troubled land of Mindanao is different only that its deadly side is all too public. Ms Villanueva in this book offers the beautiful side of Mindanao in a quiet and elegant way to attempt to counterbalance the tide of ink from the bad side of the news that sullies this beautiful land.
It is true that Mindanao has been experiencing indiscriminate attacks by a separatist guerilla movement. The violence though is not as prolific as it is in many places. Mindanao though has such great natural beauty and a warm, welcoming, and friendly population. Ms Villanueva beautifully brings these things to life through extremely well-written prose interwoven and amplified through the use of photographs of the land of her forebears. She not only presents the natural beauty of this land, but also the natural grace and dignity of its inhabitants and the ways in which they earn a living. Mindanao is truly a remarkable place.
The author’s stated purpose in writing this book is to highlight and enhance the reputation of her birthright. In the bio section of this volume Ms Villanueva is described as an amateur photographer and journalist. The end result of her work shows that she exemplifies the true meaning of the word ‘amateur.’ It comes from the Latin for doing something for the sheer love of it. Her love of photography, journalism, and most importantly the land of Mindanao comes through in great fashion.
This reviewer has no choice but to highly recommend this book and wishes Ms Villanueva every success in helping to make Mindanao into the commercial and eco-tourist mecca she envisions.
Reviewer: John Helman, Allbooks Review.
Author: Wilma ‘Cookie’ B. Villanueva
Publisher: Gensan Publishing House
ISBN: 9-789719-431015
Pages: 103
Price: $27.00 US
Sept. 2010

Saturday, February 12, 2011

Allbooks Reviews International Author Interview:

Feb. 2011

Please state your name and location.
Sarah Tate, Switzerland

Tell us the title and publisher of your book:

Web of Lies – My Life with a Narcissist. I self-published the book through Creatspace

Tell us about yourself:

I’m British, but I’ve been living in Switzerland for ten years now. My working background is in the Aerospace Business, but I have always enjoyed writing, and I’m really pleased to finally be realizing a long term dream of being a published Author. I’m also mum to three fantastic children, who keep me focused and grounded.

When was the book released?:

It was released as an Ebook in August 2010, the print version came out in January 2011

Give us an overview of your book.

Web Of Lies is an auto-biographical novel based on my experiences over the last decade of my life. I take the reader with me on a journey of what seems at first to be perfect love, but which slowly starts to unravel as it becomes clear that the person who I thought was my Prince Charming turns out to be anything but. It gives a deep insight into what it’s like to be sucked into the world of a person with a personality disorder. Slowly my whole life starts to unravel as I realize I never knew the person I married, and everything comes crashing down around me.

What inspired you to write this book?

Obviously I was driven by my circumstances at the time and my desire to help other people who find themselves in a similar situation. The problem with toxic relationships is that very often the ‘victim’ is the one who feels as though they are in the wrong. Years of conditioning lead to this, and not everybody is able to wake up and take action. I wanted to share my story to give those people hope. There is always a way out of these situations, as long as you educate yourself about what you’re up against.

How is your book different from other books in this genre?

My book isn’t a self-help book. It is intentionally written like a psychological thriller. I asked a well-known UK psychologist, Dr David Holmes to endorse Web of Lies, and he gives his expert opinion at the end of the book. As he says himself, it’s very important to see these kind of behaviors played out in an everyday setting, in order to be able to recognize these character traits. Other than that though, it’s a very raw account of a real life nightmare, and I’m very open about my own shortcomings. I don’t claim to have any qualifications in psychology, and I don’t advise the reader about their own life in any way. I just wrote a book about what happened to me, and how I overcame it.

Where can people buy your book?

It’s on Amazon, Barnes & Noble, Alibris and most other online retailers. You can also buy it directly via my website

Are you working on another book? If so when do you expect it to be published?

Yes, I have completed the second book. It is in the final proofing stages now and I expect to be bringing it out in the next couple of months. It’s the sequel to Web of Lies, and deals with the aftermath of the toxic relationship.

If you self published, what advice can you give to fellow writers?

Believe in yourself, and educate yourself about the process. Make contact with as many other Authors as possible, and be prepared to accept advice and also pass it on. You can achieve great things on your own, as long as you are armed with knowledge about what you’re doing. The web is a fantastic resource. Use it.

If published traditionally, tell us how you benefited:
Not applicable

Can you share one of your marketing successes with us?

Well, it’s early days for me so I’m still learning! I wrote a very honest blog about what stages you go through in a relationship with a Cluster B personality disorder. It went global and still receives hits from all over the world even after eight months. It has drawn a lot of attention towards my first book.

How did you find Allbooks Reviews and what are you hoping for in your relationship with us?

So far, very! I was impressed by the quick response and the honest review of the book. I hope we will stay in touch as I take my first tentative steps into the realms of ‘Published Author’!

Was the low cost a surprise? What other things would you like Allbooks Reviews to offer writers?
Yes, it’s good value for money. I think a few different ranges of publicity package would be good. An Author could choose according to their budget and ‘upgrade’ as their book gains popularity.

Thank you for this interview and best of luck with your book.
Thank you!

Thursday, February 10, 2011

The Mystery of Fate: Common Coincidence or Divine Intervention

Genre: Inspirational,
Title: The Mystery of Fate: Common Coincidence or Divine Intervention?

Author: Arlene Uslander and Brenda Warneka

Award winning writers Arlene Uslander and Brenda Warneka, met at a writer’s site on the internet, as fate would have it. The result is an uplifting, inspirational anthology of true stories where coincidence or fate plays a part in the outcomes of many situations.
Several authors, besides Uslander and Warneka, contributed to this collection of inspiring stories and after each story is a short biography of the author.
The Mystery of Fate comes at a time when the world needs to know that many times even when things could go terribly wrong and sometimes when it seems as if the did go terribly wrong, things actually went very right. Stories such as The Amazing Tablecloth, by Rabbi Adam Glickman, will bring tears to the readers’ eyes and awe to their hearts.
In the story titled The Angel that Couldn’t Fly Michael T. Dolan writes, “As I continued to stare, a light began to glow from around a curve in the road twenty yards ahead of us. I soon realized it was the headlights of a logging truck speeding around the bend. In our lane!
“I laid on my horn. There was nothing else to do. The time to react was gone. My heart seemed to stop beating. I realized with horror that the trucker’s time to react was also gone. He would hit us dead on, crush the van and kill us on impact. Then the truck would send us through the guardrail and down the embankment, where we would be buried at the bottom of the mountain.”
This is a great read for incremental reading. Each story is riveting and to the point.
I highly recommend The Mystery of Fate: Common Coincidence or Devine Intervention to all readers wanting hope and encouragement.
Reviewed by: Donetta Garman, Allbooks Review

The Mystery of Fate:Common Coincidence or Divine Int
Authors: Arlene Uslander/Brenda Warneka
Publisher: R. J. Buckley Publishing
ISBN: 978-0981965420
List price: $19.00
November 2010
For more information website:

Wednesday, February 9, 2011


THE ART OF REJECTION by Diana Raab past weekend I attended the annual AWP (Association of Writers and Writing Programs) in DC, the largest writing conference in the country. There were 5000+ attendees. I was honored to moderate a panel discussion entitled, “The Art of Rejection: Giving and Receiving.” My esteemed panelists included Molly Peacock, Philip F. Deaver, Geeta Kothari, Wendy Call and Kevin Watson. Each panelist made a presentation on various aspects of rejection.I introduced our topic by thanking all the editors and publishers in the audience who in the past have rejected my work, which inspired me to pull this panel together. Here’s a glimpse at my introductory remarks:Rejection is inherent to many aspects of life, and the literary life is no exception. Rejections happen to emerging writers, published writers and literary greats. For example, Normal Mailer’s The Naked and the Dead was rejected by 11 publishers before it was accepted; Elie Weisel’s classic book Night was turned down by at least 15 publishers. Ayn Rand’s The Fountainhead—which now sells 150,000 copies a year—was turned down at least a dozen times. If we let them, rejections can suck our spirits of their very essence. So, why do we torture ourselves like this? The reason is that rejection is a rite of passage in an author’s life. In order to ease the sting of receiving a rejection letter and to grow stronger as a result, it is important to understand what they are and what they are not, how to cope with them and how to move on.A rejection slip says nothing about your potential. It is not a rejection of you as an individual nor the value of your writing endeavors, but rather, it is the rejection of a piece of work submitted for possible publication.If you’re an editor or publisher and also a writer, the task of giving a rejection can be equally difficult. When I owned a small publishing company back in the 1980s I made sure each writer received a personal rejection letter, because I understood what it was like being on the other side.Saul Bellow says, “Rejections are not altogether a bad thing. They teach a writer to rely on his own judgment and to say in his heart of hearts, “To hell with you.”The panelists all had wonderful insights and we finished with a lively Q & A session. I was delighted that at the end of the panel a gentleman came to the podium and reached out to shake my hand. “I just want to say that I was not one of the editors to reject your work.” I looked down at his badge and it was Jay Rubin, the editor of a wonderful publication, Alehouse. I smiled and thanked him for accepting my essay some years back called, “The Poet’s Notebook.” Thanks again, Jay! Thank you for the opportunity to serve youShirley A. RoeManaging Editor,Allbooks Review